In this guide we’re going to look at the three different levels of deactivation and what that means for your data: partial deletion, full deletion, and keep all data and make inactive. Then, we will guide you through the process of deactivating children on your account.

If you have added children via Wonde then please note that changing their status on Tapestry will not affect them on your MIS. Also, if you delete them from your MIS then this does not delete them from Tapestry – it just makes their details on Tapestry editable and unlinks them from your MIS. You can read more about adding children via Wonde here.

Only users registered on Tapestry as Managers are able to deactivate and delete children. 

Partially deleted children will have some data retained on the system. What’s kept is as follows:

  • The child’s name
  • Their DOB
  • Their booking, registration, invoice and payment data
  • Their accident forms
  • Any reflections they are attached to
 

All their other data, such as photos and videos, will be deleted after 90 days. It will remain in our backups for a further 90 days and then that data is permanently deleted.

If you are partially deleting a child or setting them to inactive remember to set an end date to their Regular Schedule so that they don’t appear on future registers. Historical booking and registration data will still be available for reporting purposes.

Fully deleted children will remain in the account for 90 days in an ‘awaiting deletion’ state. During this time they will not contribute to the number of active children and any manager in the account can make them active again or export a PDF copy of their journal. 

At the end of the 90 days, they remain in our backups for a further 90 days. At the end of the 180 days in total, they are permanently deleted and all their data will be irretrievable. 

Children who you have opted to keep all the data for will become ‘Inactive’ on your account. All their data will remain on the account indefinitely and you can reactivate them at any point. They will not contribute to your number of active children on your account.

We would recommend only using this option if you know a child will be returning to your school/setting as keeping them on your account indefinitely may not be in line with your data protection policy. 

Now that we’ve familiarised ourselves with the different levels of deactivation, let’s take a look at how we deactivate children on your account.

The first thing you’ll need to do is navigate to the Manage Children page.

Click the “Configuration” button on the bottom-left > select “Children” > select “Manage Children“.

On the Manage Children page, select the child(ren) you want to deactivate by using the tick boxes. Then choose “Deactivate” from the menu on the bottom-right and click “Go“.

screenshot of Tapestry showing how to select children for deactivation

Now is when you choose the level of deactivation (use the tabs at the top of this guide to learn more about each one). 

Once you’ve selected the appropriate level, click “Review Changes“. 

screenshot of Tapestry showing the three levels of deactivation

This screen will confirm what data will be kept and what data will be deleted, the time frame in which this will happen, and the children you have chosen. 

If you’re happy with that, click the red confirmation button.

screenshot of Tapestry showing the children that have been selected for deactivation

Finally, you’ll be taken back to the Manage Children page and the children you have just deactivated will have had their statuses updated. 

screenshot of the manage children page on Tapestry showing recently deactivated children

You can use the All, Enrolling, Active, Inactive and Deleted tabs at the top of this page to quickly filter the list of children by their status.

Related tutorials