This tutorial explains how to use the Care Diary Comments tool, which can be used to leave comments about a child’s daily care. We’ll cover how to add a comment, respond to comments, view notifications, and manage likes or deleted comments. 

If you haven’t set up the Care Diary yet please take a look at this tutorial.

For general communication with relatives and staff on Tapestry, you’ll be better off using our Messaging feature. 

Allowing comments

Permissions need to be enabled for a relative to use the comments feature.

Comments are enabled from Configuration → Relatives → Relatives’ User Permissions → Care Diary. There are three permissions that can be permitted: for adding a comment, deleting a comment, and making comments visible to other relatives.

Find out more about User Permissions on Tapestry here.

Adding and interacting with comments

Comments are added individually to a child’s Care Diary, they cannot be added in bulk to more than one child at a time.

Open the Care Diary tab and click on the child you’d like to add a comment for.

Select Comments.

Type your message in the New Comment box. Click on the paper aeroplane icon to add the comment.

After sending, you can reply to, like, or delete your comment.

Staff can delete their own and relatives’ comments. Relatives can only delete their own comments.

If notifications are enabled, relatives may see a bell notification or receive an email, depending on their personal notification settings.

The relative opens the notification to view the comment in the Care Diary. Alternatively, navigate to the Care Diary menu option.

They can Like the comment or select Reply to respond in the same thread, or they can use the main Comment field to start a new thread.

When a relative sends a comment, staff will see the speech bubble icon for that child in the Care Diary that will say the number of new comments for each child. Select the icon to open the comments section, read the message, and reply if needed.

Staff and relatives can like comments. When liked, the label changes from Like to Liked. Hover over the thumbs-up icon to see who liked a comment.

Deleted comments are replaced with [Comment Deleted].

Related tutorials